Weekend things

Weekend things

You guys. Don’t you just love the weekends? Who else is a proponent of a 4 day work week?! Or better yet, let’s all have Monday AND Friday off so it’s only a 3 day work week (mwhahaha). This weekend, like all others, seemed to fly by, but it’s probably because it was the perfect combo of relaxing and fun!

Friday:

I’m so exciting, that I went grocery shopping on Friday night. But get this, I scored a spaghetti squash for $1.50!! I almost couldn’t contain myself in the grocery when I saw how cheap they were. I certainly loathe the fact that Fall is coming, (because it means cold weather) but I love, love, love the fall/winter veggies. Bring on the squashes! Wow. Yes my Friday night consisted of too much excitement over spaghetti squash. But I also went to Target! And amazingly, I walked out of there with exactly what I went in there for, black leggings! 8 bucks, you can’t beat that folks.

I also finished reading Divergent while laying in bed. I  actually watched the movie last weekend, and then decided I wanted to read the book. I’m super glad I did, because it was a super quick read, and I couldn’t seem to put it down. Whenever books are turned into movies, like most people, I tend to like the book more than the movie. However, I really don’t know which one I liked more! I’m tempted to say the movie, simply because of the actor that plays Four… (enter the emojii with the two heart eyes).

Saturday:

Let’s get something out there. My family and I are some of the most competitive people like ever. So about three months ago, I asked my brother and dad, “Who do you think would win in a sprint between us three?” That one question then turned into a huge debate, and ultimately a list of 30 events that was narrowed down to 10. Thus the Schrolympics (shh-row-lym-pics) were born! After months of preparation and talking about them, it was time for the 1st Annual Schrolympics. Here’s a little post Olympic shot for ya. (Can you tell who won & lost? Also, I don’t know what I’m doing.)

IMG_1488[1]

 

Here were our ten events and where what place I finished in for each:

  1. Putting ~ 2nd
  2. Soccer penalty kicks (goalie vs. kicker) ~ 3rd
  3. Football defender vs. receiver ~ 3rd
  4. 100 meter dash ~ 2nd
  5. Most jump ropes in a minute ~ 1st
  6. Write down as many sports teams you can in 1 minute ~ 2nd
  7. 1 mile run ~ 1st
  8. Free throws ~2nd
  9. Tennis ~ 2nd
  10. Most push-ups and sit-ups in 1 minute ~ 2nd

In the end I finished in 2nd place, with my brother in 1st, and then my dad in 3rd. My dad and I tried to be good sports afterwards, but we were so bummed we lost! Now my brother has bragging rights for the whole rest of the year whomp whomp.

Even though I lost, it was so much fun! We had so many laughs and smiles throughout the day that I don’t even mind 2nd. Don’t ever tell my family I admitted that.

Sunday:

My day started with a lying in bed, watching the Food Network, and then a smoothie. Side note: it’s 45º here! It’s not supposed to be fall yet, so yes fall, you can go away.

I went out for a refreshing 5 mile run and I hate having to get used to cold weather running again. But on the bright side, it was a great run!

IMG_1495[1]

 

Followed that up with some tennis action with my mother. I was super mad at myself for losing this event in the Olympics, so I had to redeem myself and play again asap.

IMG_1496[1]

I then headed to the library a little later, and felt the need to stop and get an iced coffee. Sorry I drank it all before I remembered to take a picture. PS → isn’t my yoga mat cute?!

IMG_1499[1]

I then spent some time food prepping and getting dinners in order for the rest of the week. I love prepping food for the week on Sundays. It just makes my life so much less hectic during the week when I get home from work or school, because by that time, this girl really doesn’t want to be doing any cooking. Then the rest of the day was spent doing homework and of course watching football! *sign* The Colts don’t play until tonight, so waiting for the game all Sunday felt like an eternity.

And that wraps it up guys! I hope you guys have a great Monday!

Leave a Reply

