Status

OneAmerica 500 Festival Mini Marathon Recap

Good morning lovely people! Hope you having an easy, relaxing morning, and that you are having as beautiful weather as we are here!

So remember on Friday, I mentioned that I made a last minute decision to run in the OneAmerica 500 Festival Mini Marathon, which essentially is the race to kick-off the opening of the Indianapolis Motor Speedway (IMS)! Opening day is always the first Sunday in May aka the following day after the race. There were over 22,000 finishers yesterday!

This post is going to seem negative and overall have a blah feeling to it. So don’t get me wrong, I’m glad I did this race, (I never have run in it before), but I definitely went into it with the wrong mindset. Coming off a PR in my last race, I was feeling real good and thought maybe I would PR this course too since it was going to be so much flatter.

Wrong.

I was waaaay too cocky with that thinking and got burned out by the end. Going into the race, I was so mentally unprepared which made me make not very smart racing decisions. My legs were absolutely shot, because I ran 4 fast miles in the middle of the race. I seriously paid for that later. Like I have never wanted to walk so badly during a race, like ever. Lessons learned here for myself: 1) don’t get cocky and 2) don’t run your fastest miles from 4-7.

I honestly have never been so happy to finish a race before. Gear up for a long post! Sorry about that…

Start:

I got into my corral, about 3 minutes before the gun went off. I’m never this late getting into corals, but it kind of worked because I never had a chance to be nervous.

Miles 1-3:

Just trying to get into my groove while enjoying the crowd and the bands that were playing. I kept telling myself to find my pace, find my pace, find my pace. Good miles, and I felt like mile 4 happened before I knew it.

Miles 4-7:

Like I said, these were my fastest miles. This is when things started to go downhill. Womp womp.

One really neat part about this race is that we get to run a full lap on the IMS!! So around mile 6, we entered and ran around the IMS! Like I got to run where the cars race. Thinking back, it is really cool, but this was a really hard part of the race. No crowds, no bands playing, SO HOT (black asphalt, no shade), and running the curves (they were angled upwards and hard on my ankles).

I did kiss the bricks though. How many people get to say that?! I’m telling myself me and Tony Kanan kissed : ) (for non Indy Car fans, he won the Indy 500 in 2013, and is clearly my favorite driver)

Miles 8-12

We left the IMS and headed back into downtown and things went even more downhill for me. My legs felt like straight lead, we were running directly into the sun, and soooo many other people had started walking, which was not helping me wanting to continue to run.

I had to use every ounce of self motivation not to walk. Miles 9,10, and 11 never seemed to end. I actually ended up walking through these water stations.

I don’t think I’ve ever been happier to see the Mile 12 mile marker. However, once you turned the corner after the mile marker, you could see the finish line. Basically the worst thing ever. It was so close but so far away.

The only redeeming factor, was just how many people lined the last mile to cheer. I mean it was PACKED. It was really cool!

MILE 13 AKA FINALLY FINISHED

Leading up to the finish, these were the mantras that got me through:

“mother of god”, “you can walk when you’re finished” “do not start walking this close, do not start walking this close” “SMILE”

Obviously all I wanted to do was walk bahaha.

Official time: 1:55:27 ~ 8:49 pace

Final thoughts

Overall, great, great crowd support, really flat, and there were tons of water & Gatorade stations (my life saviors!).

Despite my lackluster performance and overall feeling, I would 100% do this race again. The reason I didn’t have a great race, was completely my over confident thinking pre-race.

Thanks for the miles 500 Festival!

Leave a Reply

