Dear People with Certain Expectations for Me

Dear People with Certain Expectations for Me

Dear People With Certain Expectations for Me,

I hate your expectations of me.

I hate that you expect me to take a certain path, act a certain way, or say certain things. Because some of those things, just. aren’t. me. And they’re never going to be. So please stop expecting those things from me.

I hate the expectations that you are placing on me. I hate the “mold” that you put me into, because it’s too limiting and it’s your mold, not mine.

Sorry I’m not sorry that I’m not doing what is best for you but doing what is best for me.

I read this great quote, “Stop doing shit that you don’t want to do.”

YES. YES. YES. Can I get an amen?!

Doing shit that I don’t want to do, is going to mean that sometimes, I’m going to do shit that you doesn’t fit into your expectations. So please stop sticking me in this box and expecting me to act or do something a certain way.

And please for the love of God, stop expecting me to do things that follow a certain path. I am different than you are, so I am not going to do the same things that you did.

Thanks for listening and getting off my back. I know you care about me, but please stop expecting certain things from me that just aren’t going to happen.

Please throw your expectations out of the window, because frankly, I’m over that shit.

Sincerely,

Ellen

Leave a Reply

